Photo by @rresenden

Very Artificial Poetry #10

Poetry about artificial intelligence

Alex Moltzau
2 min readAug 6, 2020

--

Most days of my project #500daysofAI I post articles that attempts to grapple with researchers, research articles, whitepapers and companies within the field of artificial intelligence. However I decided to make an effort to write poetry once in a while. This is that ‘once in a while’ day, and so I hope you enjoy this poem or that this short text makes you stop and think for a second. I would of course be happy to receive any sort of feedback if you feel inclined to give. Here we go.

They talked of simulations
Whether we were in one
The weather was nice
We were sitting on benches
In a circle of roses.

We talked of intelligence and consciousness.
I looked at my friends and wondered why.
I did not want to lie. I said: “No I don’t think so.”
The arguments were far reaching.
Beseeching — preaching, leaning in to listen.

Listening device, my ear, hear hear.
Dear friend, be more unaware.
Clearing my throat, in a way I loathe.
Particularly in pandemic times.
Coughing is a crime.
Bittersweet lime.
Make lemons.

Talking of new beginnings and apocalypse,

all in the same breath.

A breath of fresh air.

Hear hear.

I may not or you may not care.
Carelessness we must address.
Suited up in blue.
Consulting on false or true.

Truth or dare.
Here.
Anywhere.

In a circle of roses.

This is #500daysofAI and you are reading article 429. I am writing one new article about or related to artificial intelligence every day for 500 days.

--

--

Alex Moltzau

AI Policy, Governance, Ethics and International Partnerships at www.nora.ai. All views are my own. twitter.com/AlexMoltzau