#500daysofAI and Then What?

My project is coming to an end — so, what comes next?

Alex Moltzau
2 min readOct 2, 2020

--

This is day 486 of my personal project #500daysofAI writing one new article about or related to artificial intelligence (AI) for 500 days. It has been an exciting journey to say the least, and a wonderful way to explore a field that is growing in importance or presence in decisions within different societies around the world. This article is a series of questions and answers.

One looming question after this journey is the following:

“…and then what?”

Several other questions appear thereafter…

What comes after? Why did I do this in the first place?

Did it work as intended? Was there an intention?

The answer to the last question is yes.

One tempting thought was to transform this into #1000daysofAI (almost three years).

However, this seems somewhat irresponsible!

I will continue to write about or related to artificial intelligence going forward.

It is a question of quantity, quality and purpose.

What was the purpose of writing about artificial intelligence?

One great reason was to learn.

Another was to understand so that I can contribute.

What can I contribute with?

Compassion perhaps, and a will to combine thinking about society with a strong interest in understanding technology.

Whether I will work in policy or help develop technology, services and products — I know have explored a variety of aspects of the field of artificial intelligence.

I have no doubt that applications using artificial intelligence is being integrated into a wide range of areas in different communities.

The people, national strategies, hardware, infrastructures, local governance, passion projects, open-source, protests, activists, poetry, talks, projects, scientists, education, and new friends.

It has all been a worthwhile endeavour and experience.

In this way I do not really need to ask: “…then what?”

I can begin to be grateful for what has been and what is.

Happy for the support I have been given from family and friends.

Glad for every hour spent thinking and discussing.

It is time for more doing and making.

Making datasets, projects, policy and taking actions.

500 days is a long time and a short time.

A long time to be writing every day and a short time to be attempting to understand the field of artificial intelligence.

To commemorate this time I thought I would finish with a Weekend of AI.

No presentations, just discussions with people I met along the way.

I think that will be a good way to round these 500 days off.

This is #500daysofAI and you are reading article 486. I am writing one new article about or related to artificial intelligence every day for 500 days.

--

--

Alex Moltzau

AI Policy, Governance, Ethics and International Partnerships at www.nora.ai. All views are my own. twitter.com/AlexMoltzau